A Painted House

February’s Thrift Store Blitz

Posted on: February 24, 2011

Last week a friend and I bundled up our four boys and did something stupid took them all on a thrift store shopping tour.  I was looking for two specific things (a desk chair and framed mirror), neither of which I found, but I did find a few other treasures.  Wanna see?

These Land’s End boots retail for $50.  FIF-TY DOLL-ARS.  Are you kidding me?  Who pays $50 for a pair of kids boots, which they will grow out of in one season?  Seriously.  I don’t even own an item of clothing that cost that much.  I paid $2.00 at St. Vincent’s, gave them a good washing, and tucked them away for next winter.

Ok, I’m really, really, really done buying Christmas items now.  Really.  But this wreath was too pretty to pass up.   It still has the Hobby Lobby tag on it for $39.99 and I paid $10 at the Salvation Army.  It looks kinda irridescent and gaudy in the photo, but in person it’s just beautiful and shimmery.

This one I won’t tell you about just yet, other than to say it was $3.00, because it’s part of another project.  Any guesses what it will be?

This wine rack was $2.00 at Goodwill and now holds towels in my bathroom.

See?

The following glassware came from St. Vincent’s and the Salvation Arm.  The apple and short canister are in my kitchen, the pagoda-looking one is on display on a shelf I will tell you about soon, and the vial is headed for my bathroom shelves.  I paid around $8.00 for all four.

And since I’m covering thrift store purchases for the month, here are a couple of items I bought on a quick trip to Goodwill earlier this month, looking for that elusive bathroom mirror.  Isn’t this little biscuit tin cute?  I don’t know if it’s meant to hold the Tea or Dog variety, but I loved the gigantic cork topper.

Did you know that you can spray paint yellow trays with roosters on them and then put them in your living room?  You can.  And the world thanks you for it.

This little milk glass bottle was $1.00

And finally, I have a thing for little pedestals.  For example this one that I bought at Goodwill several years ago and painted, pictured in our old kitchen:

Display Disposables

This pedestal bowl is wooden and I spray painted it white  (shocking!).  It sits in my living room next to pictures of an adorable baby.  I imagine it will look beautiful full of ornaments at Christmastime.

But technically it’s not a Christmas decoration.  Because I’m done with that.  Really.

4 Responses to "February’s Thrift Store Blitz"

Question. If a girl were, hypothetically speaking, going to paint all her bedroom furniture white, and that bedroom furniture had been her great-grandmother’s, but the “originalness” was not working AT ALL for the current users, would that girl, hypothetically of course, be able to get some advice and encouragement from you when school lets out and she has a minute to embark on such a project?

I suppose such a girl might be able to find some advice from someone who has recently painted some ages-old furniture white and has a few tips to share. And some encouragement along the way because man, that’s a lot of painting.

you amaze me – love the finds!!

[…] some colorful ornaments into the silver wreath I bought at a thrift store after Christmas last year.  The personalized snowmen were a gift from my parents our first married […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

