A Painted House

Dear James: Month Twenty-Four

Posted on: January 6, 2011

Note:  Readers from my former blog will be familiar with the monthly letters I write to my babies for the first two years of their lives.   As each new letter will be posted here I will be moving over all previous letters to my archives for continuity.  Thanks for your patience as I work on all this administrative stuff!

Original post date: April 16, 2010

Dear James,

Happy second birthday, James boy!  And a little boy you are, no baby left in sight.  You charge full-speed-ahead through your day, alternately narrating your (and my) every move, and begging for things we were stupid enough to let you try once.  Your Dad and I have made many rookie mistakes in parenting you these past two years, James, but none quite so big as assuming that if we let you try something once, you would then forget all about it.  Hah.  Hah hah.  Poor naïve first timers, we are.  Turns out if I let you sit on the counter and splash in the water one time while I do dishes, you will want to do it every minute of every day for the rest of your life.  You’d think we college educated ones would have picked up on this trend when we let you touch the ceiling fan just once before you turned one and now, over a year later, alternate responding to your consistent requests to “Touch it?  Tooooouch it?  Touch’a da faaaan?”

This month we marked another stage of your growth into a big boy by switching you into a toddler bed.  I was a little worried how that transition would go, as you’ve been emotionally entangled with your crib from an early age.  It’s the only place you’ve slept soundly since you were just a few months old and you frequently ask to be put inside during your waking hours, just to play in there.  Yes, for the record, that’s a little weird.  Not that I’m surprised, I happen to have an unhealthy dependence on my bed and you know those kind of addictive behaviors are genetic.  But all my worry was for naught, as you latched onto the idea of a Big Boy Bed with glee.  You looooove being able to climb in and out by yourself and have even nixed our nightly rocking and singing routine, to expedite the process.  Sniff.

Not to say the transition has been completely smooth.  We made it three weeks with only the occasional bedtime snafu, where you’d come waltzing out of your room minutes after being put to bed.  But earlier this week you made up your mind to see if perhaps Mom’s limit for naptime indiscretions was lower than you thought and you were only two tries away from covert playtime.  WRONG.  And yes, that was me laughing into my arm out in the living room after busting you out of bed and watching you turn and hightail it back, pop gun trailing behind you and toy hammer tossed over your shoulder like discarded dead weight.  Turkey.

The largest change to happen to our family this month will have perhaps the biggest effect on you, James.  A few weeks ago we found out that in seven short months we’re going to welcome another member of our family!  I’m not sure how you’re going to feel about this addition come November, when suddenly you are not the only small person requiring Mama’s time and energy and attention.  To be honest I’m a little nervous about how it will affect you; I’m afraid you’ll be resentful of the new baby and upset with me for turning your world upside down.  But I also know from experience that siblings are the greatest long-term gift a parent can give their child.  The brother who shoves you and tries to stand on your head will someday stand next to you at your wedding and nudge you forward to take your bride’s hand.  And the same sister who calls away your Mama’s attention will call you on your birthday long after your Dad and I are gone.  So James, I’m willing to risk some of your two-year-old resentment in order to assure that for the rest of your years you will have someone bonded to you by blood and a mutual love of nacho cheese.

Love, Mama

2 Responses to "Dear James: Month Twenty-Four"

This is the first time I read this and I just LOVE it! You are a fabulous writer and your boys are going to love these letters when they are older. Your last paragraph brought tears to my eyes as I have thought some of the same things about my boys! :o)

Thanks, Heidi! I wasn’t sure if I should move all my old letters over here since I wasn’t sure anyone would want to read them. But I did it anyway, and I’m glad that you enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

