A Painted House

Furniture Rehab: Kitchen Hutch

Posted on: January 5, 2011

Note:  This is a repost from my former blog, for the sake of archiving all home-related projects.  Original publish date:  September 24, 2010.

There is this lonely wall in my kitchen just begging for a not-too-big, not-too-deep piece of furniture.  I’ve been scouring Craig’s List for anything titled “cabinet”, “sidboard”, or “hutch”.  Lo and behold I happened upon one called a “kitchen/dining nook” that looked to be the perfect size.  They were asking $100 and over email we’d agreed on $60.  But when we went to see it in person it needed a lot more work than we thought.  So I took a couple of minutes to examine all its imperfections, commented on the work it needed, and offered them $40.  And they agreed.

Kitchen Cabinet Before Kitchen Cabinet Before (2)

I’d been optimistic that because it was white I wouldn’t have to paint it.  Wrong.  There were stains and marker scribbles and some of the laminate was yellowing.  So I disassembled the doors, took out the drawers and all the shelves.  I painted them all with a coat of Adhesive Primer made for unpaintable furniture (LOVE that stuff! Have I mentioned that recently?) and then two coats of white semi-gloss paint.  Figures I’d end up putting three coats of white on a piece that started out white.  Gah.

The top and “butcherblock” top were actually just fake wood laminate so they too received a coat of Adhesive Primer and then two coats of black spray paint in semi-gloss.  When we eventually replace our countertops with black granite, they will look like they fit right in!

I removed the top back panel all together because it was pretty banged up and there were holes cut in it for wiring.  I have plans to put a new backing on the top once we undertake our kitchen redo, but for now it will remain open.

Here she is, all dressed up for Fall!  Sorry the lighting is so poor in these photos – I tried it with the kitchen lights on but all you could see was reflection in the glass. The bottom half holds cook books, kitchen linens, coupons, crayons and other things I like to keep out of reach of little hands, diapers and wipes, my camera, and all manner of things I don’t want cluttering up my counters.

 Kitchen Cabinet After (3) Kitchen Cabinet After (7)

Kitchen Cabinet After (6)

Kitchen Cabinet After (4)

Kitchen Cabinet After (2)

4 Responses to "Furniture Rehab: Kitchen Hutch"

[…] in an effort to pretty up my newly-nekkid kitchen hutch, I continued my quest to Embrace the Blue.  (No idea what I’m talking about?  See this […]

[…] one coat of adhesive primer and then spray painted the top in black semi-gloss, to match the kitchen hutch.  I brush painted the bottom with two coats of white […]

[…] Step 2: Stalk Craig’s List for months and months and sweetly ask your husband to drive your hugely pregnant self all over town gathering furniture to fill the space.  This is a BIG kitchen.  We had a table and chairs that were in sad shape and too small for the space so I began the quest to find a larger, round table.  You can see its transformation here.  That big empty space on the right was filled with the Craig’s List Hutch.    […]

[…] silver, and red ornaments and mixed them all together in any container I could find.  Here is the kitchen hutch all glammed up with […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

