A Painted House

Furniture Rehab: Desk Chair

Posted on: January 5, 2011

Note:  This is a repost from my former blog, for the sake of archiving all home-related projects.  Original publish date:  August 3, 2010.

I’ve been wanting a chair I could revamp to use as a desk chair in the Reading Room.  (Note: for those unfamiliar, the Reading Room is what I call the room intended as a formal sitting room, but which we’ll use as an office/library.) 

This is the one we had but it’s a) not pretty, b) going to live in Travis’ basement office and c) is chewing up the carpet because it’s on wheels.

Reading Room 7.14 (3)

So, off to Goodwill we go once more!  Hello, lovely:

DSC_0043 DSC_0044  

Or not.  The fabric was horrid, the wood all scratched and dinged, and don’t even get me started on the padding underneath that awful plaid.  Shudder.  But the price was right:

DSC_0042

To revamp this chair I:

  1. Removed the seat, pried off and disgarded the old upholstery and padding.
  2. Purchased some foam padding at Wal-Mart and cut it to fit the seat.
  3. Spray painted the frame with two coats of white semi-gloss.
  4. Dug around in my fabric stash for something with which to recover the seat.  As I don’t know for sure what I’m going to do with the reading room (though I do have a mental picture that involves white/creamy yellow/red) I didn’t want to spend money on fabric that may or may not go with the final product.  Instead I found the curtain I made for our bedroom in our apartment, which will not be used as a curtain again.  Perfect!
  5. Cut a scrap piece of fabric bought at a yard sale for $.25 to use as an under layer, and then stapled it over the foam padding to create a smooth layer.
  6. Stretched and stapled the curtain fabric over the seat.
  7. Re-attached the seat to the frame.

Ta da!

DSC_0067  DSC_0068

Much better:

DSC_0071

Grand total:  $5 for chair, $4 for padding, $4 for paint  = $13

1 Response to "Furniture Rehab: Desk Chair"

[…] Anyway.   Back to my Quest for a Reading Room Chair.  When we moved in I put this too-small, not-comfy accent chair in my reading corner as a placeholder.  (You can see how I rehabbed that desk chair here.) […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

